Maureen Fraîche

Mixing Business and Pleasure in the Kitchen

S’more Cookie Bars

S'mores Cookie Bars

Yeah, so it’s been awhile since I’ve posted.  Though summer fun at the lake has definitely been a deterrent to spending time in front of the laptop, perhaps my biggest distraction has been my crazy nesting instinct.  Yup.  I am now entering the 34th week of my third pregnancy and this time around, my craftiness has known no bounds.  I kid you not–wall murals, various swaddlers and sleep sacks, Halloween costumes for the boys, even a biscuit quilt!–I am out of control.

However!  When I came across this gem of a recipe I thought, what better way to make amends for such neglect?  Don’t these look amazing?  Once again, I have struck gold on Crepes of Wrath.  Our church is having a potluck on Sunday (mmmm….potluuuuuck) and I wanted to bring something worthy of the occasion.  So!  I whipped these up this morning whilst the man was out hunting and they are so. good.

My adaptation is very near what you’ll find on Crepes of Wrath.  The recipe below is indeed a double-batch of her version and I also decided to swap in semi-sweet chocolate for milk chocolate.  I thought a slightly less sweet chocolate would better balance the sweetness of everything else going on in the recipe and, truth be told, I just don’t care for milk chocolate.  As for the marshmallow fluff, I used two 7 ounce jars of the stuff, which I believe is a tad more than the amount used in the other version, but seemed like a good amount.  Also–and perhaps more honestly–I was just too lazy to bother measuring all that stickiness.

A few more thoughts–

First of all, I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bars because I already had them on hand and was feeling cheap.  While this certainly worked, it did make spreading the fluff on top a bit more irksome as the chips liked to stick to it and migrate around.  Next time, I’d probably try to find bars instead.  Unless I was feeling cheap again.

Second, don’t use melted marshmallows.  Once melted, baked, and cooled, you’d wind up with a tooth-shattering situation with rock hard marshmallow.  Plus, having just made and tested these, the fluff texture is so creamy and nice, you just don’t want to mess with it.  Use the fluff.

Finally, as difficult as this will be, do wait until the bars have cooled before slicing them.  That top layer of cookie will really try to break and crumble on you otherwise and the gooey-ness within will turn into a mess.  A delicious mess, yes, but a mess none the less.

Enjoy!!

S’more Cookie Bars
Makes about 20-24 bars

Ingredients

18 graham cracker rectangles (about 2 packages from the box)
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (or about 4 king-sized chocolate bars)
2 – 7 ounce jars marshmallow fluff

Begin by breaking up your graham crackers into the bowl of a food processor and pulse until magically transformed into crumbs.  Set aside.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9 x 13 baking dish and set aside.  Feel free to line it with parchment for easier bar removal, if you like.

Cream together the butter and sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, and beat for another minute or so.  Beat in the vanilla.  In a separate medium-sized bowl, combine your graham cracker crumbs, flour, baking powder, and salt.  Gradually add this to the butter mixture and mix until just combined.

Press half of the graham cookie dough into the bottom of your baking dish then top with the chocolate bars or chips.  Spread the marshmallow fluff on top of the chocolate.  If you use chips, I found it easiest to drop lots of spoonfuls all over, which cut down on how much spreading I had to do.  As I mentioned, the chips like to get lost in the fluff and migrate around, so either go easy or use bars.  Once you’ve got your fluff smoothed out, top everything with the final layer of graham cookie dough.  You can do this in a couple of ways; either make lots of little pancakes in the palms of your hands to place on top, or else roll the dough out between two sheets of parchment or waxed paper.  I went with the former route and that seemed to work well.

Pop in your preheated oven and bake for 30-35 minutes.  (I pulled mine out after 33 minutes.)  If you find the bars are browning excessively, feel free to lay a piece of foil on top.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely before slicing.  Enjoy!

Nutrition information per serving (1/24 of recipe): 315 calories, 13 g total fat, 8 g saturated fat, 51 g total carbohydrate, < 1 g fiber, 1 g protein

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

