Maureen Fraîche

Mixing Business and Pleasure in the Kitchen

Creamy Tomato Cheddar Soup

Tomato Cheddar Soup

I’ve always hated Campbells tomato soup.  Sometimes I would try to like it to no avail.  Not even when paired with a grilled cheese sandwich.  This naturally led me to the belief that I simply hated tomato soup, and that was all there was to it.

Then one day it happened.

It was one of those bleary Seattle days when nothing would do but a hot bowl of soup.  Sure of finding something good at Beecher’s, I popped in and took a look at their soups of the day.  On the list was their Flagship Tomato Soup.  Despite all my previous bad experiences with tomato soup, the thought of a Beecher’s grilled cheese paired with a homemade tomato soup was irresistible.  I took a gamble and placed my order.

I’ll just cut to the chase and tell you it was awesome.  Even better, the recipe found its way onto the pages of Kurt Beecher Dammeier’s Pure Flavor cookbook, which means I can whip up a batch anytime the clouds roll in.

My version below is a bit lighter than the original, though still plenty cheesy and creamy.  Feel free to tweak the amount and type of cheese to your heart’s content.  Ditto for the cream.  You could also play with herbs and spices to give the soup a different personality.  Just today I was thinking a goodish spoonful of pesto and swapping in some Italian cheeses might just be a stroke of genius and I’ve long thought of adding salsa and topping the soup with olives, avocado, green onions, and crunchy tortilla chips for a Tex-Mex twist.  I guess, though, when it comes down to it, the original is just so good I’ve never bothered to try these ideas.  If you do, let me know how it goes!

Creamy Tomato Cheddar Soup
Serves 4

2 tablespoons butter
1/2 yellow onion, diced small
1-28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
5 ounces grated medium Cheddar, like Tillamook
1/4 cup heavy cream

Heat the butter over medium heat in a medium-sized heavy saucepan.  Add the diced onion and saute until softened but not browned, about 4-6 minutes.  Carefully pour in the crushed tomatoes and water, stirring well to combine.  Bring to a low boil and simmer for 5 minutes.  Add the salt and pepper.  Turn the burner off and stir in your grated Cheddar.  Once melted, stir in the heavy cream.  Adjust seasoning if needed.  Serve hot.

Nutrition information per serving (1/4 recipe): 325 calories, 23.5 g total fat, 14.5 g saturated fat, 20 g carbohydrate, 4 g fiber, 13 g protein

Would you like some soup?

Would you like some soup?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Cheddar Soup

  1. This looks lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

