Maureen Fraîche

Mixing Business and Pleasure in the Kitchen

Pico de Gallo

pico de gallo

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE pico de gallo.  Really and truly, the chips are just a carrier as I obscenely pile on this deliciously fresh salsa and shovel it down the hatch.  So good.   And even better?  It is so good for you!  Not only is it low in calories, but it is loaded with a variety of vitamins and antioxidants.  Plus, the capsaicin found in spicy peppers has been associated with heart health, not to mention possible metabolism-boosting properties and appetite suppression–helpful if you are trying to shed a few pounds.

As I hunted around online for a pico recipe, I was dismayed to see that most recipes failed to include cabbage.  Is it just me, or isn’t cabbage a mainstay in your local Mexican restaurant’s pico de gallo?  Anyway, here is my rendition.  Feel free to tweak the ingredients to suit your taste buds.  Remember that most of the spiciness in those jalapenos is found in the seeds and white membranes.  If you want milder pico de gallo, remove them entirely.  I tend to just leave in the membranes, but I like my food fairly spicy.  I also wear gloves when dissecting these spicy gems, lest I inevitably attempt to rub my eyes or touch my children with spicy fingers.

Pico de Gallo
Serves 6

Ingredients

1 ½ cups shredded cabbage mix
2 large tomatoes, seeded and diced small
½ large red onion, minced
2 jalapenos, seeded and minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
½ bunch fresh cilantro, leaves roughly chopped
1 lime, juiced
Kosher salt

Add the veggies and cilantro to a medium bowl and toss.  Drizzle over the lime juice and toss again.  Finally, add a pinch of salt and toss.  Taste for seasoning and add more salt, if needed.  Enjoy!

Nutrition information for 1/6 recipe: 25 calories, <1 g total fat, 0 g saturated fat, 6 g carbohydrate, 1.5 g fiber, 1 g protein

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

