Maureen Fraîche

Mixing Business and Pleasure in the Kitchen

Citrus Grilled Chicken

Apple Blossom Festival is upon us, and with it, the Food Fair!  Ah yes, even a dietitian such as myself can get a little giddy at the thought of funnel cakes, tortatoes, and food vendors as far as the eye can see…though the outrageous prices do keep one in check, thankfully.  I have to admit, I always get a good laugh whenever I cross paths with past or present clients.  Despite the fact that I, myself, might be toting an enormous plate of questionable food, my clients will often duck behind a tent or attempt to hide their food from my gaze when I pass.  And, even when I haven’t seen a familiar face, I inevitably receive guilty emails of confession after the fact.

In any case, we are headed to the Food Fair tomorrow and my husband has accordingly requested something light for dinner…a little pre-penance.  This recipe for Citrus Grilled Chicken is one of my stand-by’s for such an occasion (and many others, for that matter!).  Quick and easy both to prepare and grill, I throw it together whenever I need something in a pinch with great flavor.

The version I’ve given you below is adapted from Pure Flavor, one of my favorite cookbooks.  The recipes are loaded with fresh ingredients that are full of Pacific Northwest flavor.  This chicken can be used in a myriad of ways–wraps, burgers, salads–you name it!  It goes quite well with any number of dishes and yet is full of flavor in its own right.  As always, feel free to play with the marinade using what you have on hand–swap the limes for another citrus fruit or experiment with the fresh herbs from your garden (or grocery).  It will taste great!

Citrus Grilled Chicken
Serves 4

Ingredients

1 pound chicken tenderloins (or boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into 1″ slices)
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Juice of 1 lime
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 Tb fresh parsley, chopped
1 ½ tsp packed brown sugar
1 tsp kosher salt
1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper
2 dashes cayenne pepper

Whisk together all ingredients except for the chicken.  Place the chicken in a glass bowl or large zip-lock bag and pour in the olive oil mixture.  Cover or seal and allow to marinate in the fridge for 1-2 hours.

Heat your grill over medium-high flame.  Grill the chicken for about 8 minutes, flipping half-way through, until the internal temperature reaches 165 degrees.  (As always, discard that leftover marinade.)

Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Citrus Grilled Chicken

  1. This is now one of my favorites recipes for chicken.. loved it with grill buns, lettuce and onions, too….when are you fixing it again? I’ll be right over!!

Leave a Reply

